Subterranean Homesick Blues

“Cos it’s not my home, it’s their home and I’m welcome no more”

There’s a light that never goes out – The Smiths

This is not a myth. You’ve got shit loads of readings to do in British universities. That’s why they’ve invented this thing called Reading Week. You don’t have any classes for a week and you’re supposed to use that precious time to do some work. Of course I hardly know anyone who’s actually read anything else that their cereals pack. Most people just went back home. I was extremely reluctant to leave this gorgeous city but I quite like my family, as it happens, and I needed to get my guitar (and a huge amount of clothes) to Manchester.

So I went back to Paris for four days. Good baguettes, at last! It wasn’t exactly a “home sweet home, life is beautiful, smiley smile” kind of atmosphere though. What is home anyway? The place you’ve always lived in and loved like crazy? Or the place you’ve always wanted to go to, you’re finally living in and you love so much it makes you think everywhere else is ridiculous shit? Of course I was really happy to see my sister, my parents, my lovely room, my lovely guitar and my friends. I had missed them all. Spending time with my family, watching series with my sister, going out with my best friends, eating French and non-student food, that was all good. On the other hand, I’m certainly not used to that city anymore. Smiling and being nice isn’t exactly something that Parisians are really familiar with.  Cheap drinks ain’t exactly something they’re familiar with either. Parisian defects are part of Parisian beauty, would I have said a month ago, but it seems like I wasn’t really in the mood to think so. Plus, the fact that half of my friends couldn’t take two hours of their time to see me didn’t really help. Oh well. During the whole time I was like “where are all the students??” cos, boy, isn’t there loads of students in Manchester!  Even taking the underground was awkward. And Lord knows I love the underground. But, you know, I was missing England.

I’m all the more happy to be in Manchester now and all the more determined to make the fucking most of it. Brace yourselves, the “look how fantastic Manchester is” posts are coming.

 

“Cos it’s not my home, it’s their home and I’m welcome no more”

There’s a light that never goes out – The Smiths

Ce n’est pas un mythe. Y a des tonnes de “readings” à faire dans les facs britanniques. C’est pour ça qu’on a inventé ce truc appelé la Reading Week. On n’a pas de cours pendant cette semaine et on est censés mettre à profit  ce temps précieux pour travailler. Evidemment je ne connais quasiment personne qui ait lu autre chose que son paquet de céréales. La plupart des gens en profitent pour rentrer chez eux.  J’étais extrêmement réticente à l’idée de quitter cette magnifique ville ne serait-ce qu’une seconde mais il se trouve que j’aime bien ma famille et j’avais besoin de récupérer ma guitare (ainsi qu’un nombre incalculable de fringues)

Je suis donc rentrée à Paris pour quatre jours. Des baguettes bien de chez nous, enfin! C’était pas trop “home sweet home, la vie est belle, la maison dans la prairie, youpiyou” pour autant. Qu’est-ce que ça veut dire, “home”, de toute façon? Le lieu où on a toujours vécu et qu’on a toujours kiffé comme une folle? Ou le lieu où on a toujours voulu allé, où on vit enfin et qu’on aime tellement que tout le reste nous parait méga bouseux? Bien sûr j’étais très contente de revoir ma sœur, mes parents, ma chambre adorée, ma guitare adorée et mes amis. Passer du temps avec ma famille, regarder des séries avec ma sœur, sortir avec mes meilleurs amis, bouffer de la cuisine française qui ne soit pas pour les étudiants, c’est tout bon. D’un autre côté, je ne suis carrément plus habituée à cette ville. Sourire et être gentil, les Parisiens ne connaissent pas vraiment. Les boissons qui ne coutent pas la peau du cul, connaissent pas non plus. Leurs défauts font leur beauté, aurais-je dit il y a un mois, mais il semble que je n’étais pas vraiment d’humeur à voir les choses comme ça.  Et puis le fait que la moitié de mes amis ne puisse pas prendre deux heures pour me voir n’a pas vraiment aidé. M’enfin. Du début à la fin je me disais “ mais où sont les étudiants??, parce que, bon Dieu, des étudiants, y en a un sacre paquet à Manchester! Même prendre le métro, c’était bizarre. Et Dieu sait que j’aime le métro. Mais l’Angleterre me manquait.

J’en suis d’autant plus heureuse d’être à Manchester maintenant et d’autant plus déterminée à en profiter un max. Brace yourselves, les articles “regardez comme Manchester est fantastique” arrivent.

Leave a Reply

